Cheeseburger Deluxe Casserole

I am not sure what possessed me to throw this together, but I’m sure it had something to do with watching all kinds of delicious burgers being made and eaten on The Food Network.

In one pan, I threw together diced onions, green peppers, and yellow peppers. In another pan, I browned a pound of grass-fed ground beef and seasoned it with some cajun seasoning.

IMG_3540

I then threw the sauteed peppers and cooked ground beef together into a casserole pan and topped it with mushrooms. I did this for ease– but, in hindsight, I might have sauteed the mushrooms in advance as well since mushrooms generally release a lot of moisture.

IMG_3541

I topped the casserole with a cheddar/monterey jack cheese mix and popped it in the oven at 350 degrees for about 20 minutes.

IMG_3542

The dish turned out to be extremely delicious (albeit watery), and it definitely filled my cheeseburger craving. I ended up draining the excess liquid and using that as a base for some great veggie soup the day after.

IMG_3543

The mushrooms, onions, and peppers really gave the dish that extra special burger topping flavor. This would have been delicious over rice, but we enjoyed it as is.

Cheeseburger Deluxe Casserole

Leave a Reply

