Pumpkin Spice Muffins

So far, our pursuit for a “non-wheat belly” has been great. I’ve enjoyed trying new things with all that delicious produce I bought, and I feel like our bodies are happier because of it. Unfortunately, I can’t help but still crave sweets and baked goods. Luckily, I was perusing the Wheat Belly book and saw a recipe for pumpkin spice muffins. It replaces all-purpose flour with a chock-full of walnuts, almond flour (essentially more nuts), and ground flax seed. I figured I’d give it a try.

IMG_3468

Since I was out of walnuts, I had to substitute it with more almonds. So I threw together two cups of almond flour, a cup of chopped almonds, a 1/4 cup of ground flax seed, two teaspoons of cinnamon, a teaspoon each of nutmeg and allspice, a teaspoon of baking powder, 3/4 cup of sugar (I used half stevia and half coconut palm sugar, which are supposed to be the best sugar substitutes out there). In another bowl, I mixed up a can of unsweetened pumpkin puree, three medium eggs, and 1/4 cup of coconut oil. Then I mixed the wet with the dry, and filled up a muffin pan with the mixture.

IMG_3483The outcome is a dense, nutty little muffin that didn’t seem to move much from the way I had filled the pan. Even though it doesn’t have the lightness I generally desire in baked goods, it’s sweet, moist, and hearty and will taste wonderful with a hot cup of tea.

Pumpkin Spice Muffins

Leave a Reply

