Migas are My Friend

I was never a big migas fan. Migas are a popular Tex-Mex breakfast dish made with scrambled eggs, corn tortilla strips, diced onions, sliced chile peppers, diced tomatoes, cheese, and whatever additional spices or salsas the cook would prefer to add. I never really felt drawn to it because it lacked any kind of breakfast meat. Surprisingly, this wheat-free period of my life has made me reassess my feelings toward migas. When the popular breakfast option of choice here in Texas is a taco, migas are a very welcome alternative. Of course the corn tortillas are a bit of a no-no, but one can always eat around them.

The husband and I went to a place called Cisco’s that’s apparently been around for over 50 years and has maintained (if not gained in) its popularity. They are known for their migas and huevos rancheros, so I insisted that we stop in to try them. This was my first “real” endeavor into Tex-Mex migas, and I loved them. I know migas sounds simple enough, but I really think Cisco’s has perfected their cooking method and recipe. Their migas are so flavorful and almost decadent. Adding a side of delicious beef fajita brought it to an even higher level, and I am already anticipating the day that I’ll be back.

IMG_3486

Migas are My Friend

Leave a Reply

