Spaghetti Squash with Smoky Tomato & Kale

This is my second time using spaghetti squash, and I think I’m starting to become a bit more comfortable and adventurous with it. I put the two halves of a gutted spaghetti squash in a 350-degree oven for about 30 minutes, and then I scooped out it’s spaghetti-like flesh into a bowl and set it aside. Then I sauteed up some garlic and chopped uncured pork loin bacon (which has the texture of ham but the deliciously smoky flavor of bacon). After the bacon rendered a bit and its sides crisped up, I threw in some chopped up cherry tomatoes and finally some chopped up lacinato (or dino) kale. Even though the bacon already had some great flavor, I sprinkled in some celtic sea salt for good measure. Once the kale had wilted and everything looked well mixed, I threw in the spaghetti squash and tossed it all together until everything was well incorporated.

IMG_3476

There was quite a bit of steam from the spaghetti squash flesh, so I left it on the stove for a bit longer in an attempt to dry it out a bit. I don’t think it actually helped, but I think it did help the squash soak up the flavors even more.

IMG_3477The final dish was extremely flavorful, made even better with a topping of parmesan cheese and chopped basil. Unfortunately, my over-watered basil plant has turned a very light green, but the flavor is still there and it definitely gave the dish that extra something. I was pleased with this because it was hearty and filling without needing meat as the star, and the husband even asked for seconds. Score!

Spaghetti Squash with Smoky Tomato & Kale

Leave a Reply

