Tuna Melt Tomato Cups

I saw a picture of these on Pinterest, and I just had to make them. I’m not a big canned tuna fan, but anything topped with cheese can make me think twice.

I also bought these beautiful heirloom tomatoes just for this purpose– and, I have to say, heirlooms are definitely worth the hype. I scooped out the tomato insides and ate them just as they were. So delicious.

For the filling, I mixed two cans of white tuna, finely chopped celery, finely chopped red pepper, chopped green onions, about a cup of Vegenaise, a tablespoon of yellow mustard, and some shredded cheddar. For someone who doesn’t like tuna salad, I had to help myself to a few spoonfuls of it.

So I filled those beautiful heirloom tomato cups with the tuna filling and baked them at 375 for about 10 minutes. I then topped them with some more shredded cheese and broiled them for a couple more minutes.

imageMmm, such great color.

imageIt definitely becomes more decadent with the melty cheese topping– but, all in all, it was still a relatively healthy, fresh-tasting meal. This is certainly a must-do-again.

Tuna Melt Tomato Cups

Leave a Reply

