Sauteed Greens and Shrimp with Avocado-Tomato Salsa

I bought a new green the other day called broccoleaf, which is essentially broccoli leaves. People say it tastes like a cross between a sugar snap pea and kale, but I think it leans more toward the latter. It’s a nice, hearty green with beautiful flat, large leaves. I decided to chop these up and saute them with onions, garlic, and some green olives. After sauteing them up together for about 8 minutes, I threw in some nice shrimp (that I of course shelled and deveined first). The shrimp cooked up quickly and I soon took the pan off the heat.

image

I saw this little trick on a cooking show to throw in the hard stems of greens right at the beginning so they’d cook up and give the meal a nice crunch. I chopped the broccoleaf stems up really thinly, which worked out well since they soaked up a lot of flavor.

This alone would make a nice, salty, flavorful meal, but I decided that it would benefit from something fresh and sweet. I threw together an avocado and tomato salsa with a little salt, lemon, and cilantro. I know it sounds completely strange, but the salsa gave the meal a nice bit of acid and sweetness.

image

The end result was a nice blend of different flavors and textures, and it was altogether quite satisfying.

Sauteed Greens and Shrimp with Avocado-Tomato Salsa

Leave a Reply

