Swiss Chard, Sausage, and Ricotta Muffins

For the first recipe inspired by my rainbow bounty, I decided to try a twist on a tried-and-true favorite. My friend and I have been making bacon, sausage, and cheese muffins since the first time we embarked on the Wheat Belly diet. Since I decided the husband and I should try our hand at the Wheat Belly diet again, I thought it would be fitting to experiment with a different take on this breakfast muffin favorite. I found this great recipe using some beautiful red-stemmed swiss chard, which I sadly don’t use often enough.

I chopped up some of that great chard and sauteed it with garlic and onions. Then I mixed up ricotta, some grated fancy swiss cheese (which I unfortunately can’t remember the actual name of), and several eggs in a bowl. I lined the bottoms of my muffin cups with a tablespoon or so of mild Italian sausage, topping the cups with about three tablespoons of the ricotta mixture and a bit more shredded swiss.

imageI salted the greens really well, so they were extremely flavorful on their own.

imageSadly, I’ve never been known for cleanliness in the kitchen.

imageThe result was a little Italian muffin of goodness. I honestly thought the sausage was a bit overpowering for the delicate ricotta topping, and I wanted to taste more of that delicious chard, but it was overall a successful dish. It was also a plus that it made 24 muffins, so I was able to refrigerate the majority of it for future breakfasts, lunches, or snacks. I know this isn’t exactly the healthiest recipe ever, but it’s a nice way to start this adventure of being wheat-free.

Swiss Chard, Sausage, and Ricotta Muffins

Leave a Reply

